Peach Blossom Spring

$32.99

Out of stock

SKU: 9781472277541 Category:

Description

An epic, powerful and intensely personal debut about war, migration, family, and the search for a place to call home. For fans of PACHINKO, WILD SWANS and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE

'Melissa Fu portrays the time, the culture, the place and the struggles of this family so vividly, with nuance and colour and life . . . A stunning achievement' – CHRISTY LEFTERI, AUTHOR OF THE BEEKEEPER OF ALEPPO

'An immersive, expertly plotted and elegantly written novel . . . championing the vitality and ingenuity of the immigrant experience' – SHARLENE TEO, AUTHOR OF PONTI

With every misfortune there is a blessing and within every blessing, the seeds of misfortune, and so it goes, until the end of time.

It is 1938 in China, and the Japanese are advancing. A young mother, Meilin, is forced to flee her burning city with her four-year-old son, Renshu, and embark on an epic journey across China. For comfort, they turn to their most treasured possession – a beautifully illustrated hand scroll. Its ancient fables offer solace and wisdom as they travel through their ravaged country, seeking refuge.

Years later, Renshu has settled in America as Henry Dao. His daughter is desperate to understand her heritage, but he refuses to talk about his childhood. How can he keep his family safe in this new land when the weight of his history threatens to drag them down?

Spanning continents and generations, Peach Blossom Spring is a bold and moving look at the history of modern China, told through the story of one family. It's about the power of our past, the hope for a better future, and the search for a place to call home.

Shipping
Shipping
Wherever practicable, Lonely Coat ships via Australia Post. Upon placing an order, you should receive a confirmation email within 30 minutes. Please contact [email protected] if you do not receive this email within that time. In-stock items will usually be despatched within 2 business days Please note: 'business' or 'working' days are Tuesday to Saturday, excluding public holidays. At present, we cannot ship to P.O. Boxes.
Returns
Returns
Please read through our return policy to verify if you are eligible for a return of purchase, before applying. Once the item has been received by a customer, they have seven days (7 days) to apply for a return, adhering to the conditions below: Please send a picture of the item and the invoice/receipt to [email protected] noting the reasons for wanting to return the item/s. When Lonely Coat accepts your return, you will receive detailed instructions regarding how to return the item. Faulty items, misbound items, or incorrect items that have been sent as a result of Lonely Coat’s error can be returned for exchange of same item or a full refund. Please DO NOT send your item back to us without approval/authorization - only returns that have been authorized by Lonely Coat can and will be accepted. All original shipping costs are refundable and all costs for return shipment will be covered by Lonely Coat once the return is authorised. We do not hold responsibility for products lost in transit. There is a seven (7) day policy of return for faulty items. We do not accept any return requests on sale items. All sales transactions are final, without exception.